Health & Social Care Overview

Head of Faculty: Mrs S. Barnes

Humanities at Bewdley incorporates a broad spectrum of study. The recognised core of Geography, History and Religious Education are joined in the Upper School by Health and Social Care, Sociology and Psychology. This breadth and depth of study explores all aspects of human life and interaction, encouraging lively debate and thoughtful analysis and evaluation of our society, its cultural development and social norms and expectations.

Core humanities subjects are taught to all lower school students covering one sixth of the curriculum, whilst at GCSE and Advanced Level they are offered a wide range of choices. GCSE courses in Geography, History and Religious Education are joined by BTEC Health and Social Care as popular introduction to a crucial part of our social infrastructure. At Advanced Level many students study History and Geography, with a strong uptake in Advanced Level Psychology. Advanced BTEC Health and Social Care is offered as a single and a double course studied in large numbers as a gateway into the sector.

  • Health & Social Care Year 10 & 11

    Students in Years 10 and 11 participate in the BTEC Tech Award in Health and Social Care.

    The course is a 2 year course which consists of 3 Components:-

    Component 1 – Human Lifespan Development

    Component 2 – Health and Social Care Services and Values.

    Component 3 – Health and Wellbeing

  • Health & Social Care Year 12 & Year 13

    In Years 12 and 13 The BTEC Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care (one A Level equivalent) and the BTEC National Diploma Level 3 in Health and Social Care (two A Level equivalent) are offered. Both courses are a combination of assignment work and examinations.

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions